It Might Be Tempting, but I’m Not Quitting Church Anytime Soon

Aaron J. Anderson
7 min readMar 16, 2021

I am not quitting the Church anytime soon, and it is not due to a shortage of plausible reasons.

In my 44 years of life as a Church insider, I have often been dismayed and horrified by the Church’s behavior: the leadership failures, sex scandals, clergy abuse of children, authoritarianism, blatant hypocrisy, judgmental attitudes, idolatrous alignment with American politics, consumerism, discomfort with science, poor treatment of women, flirtation with conspiracy theories, unwillingness to confront racism, lack of compassion for the poor, etc.

This dysfunctional institution is the one God entrusted with delivering the Good News to the world? Heaven help us.

The Church has been my spiritual Mother since I was an infant. I have known her nursery, Sunday School classes, baptismal font, Sunday worship services, communion table, low-budget dinner banquets, revival services, Christian schools, universities, and seminaries. For 13 years, I have been ordained to the office of ministry on Her behalf.

As a member and pastor, I have had more than my share of first hand opportunities to witness her flaws. Why then, would I refuse to quit the Church?

Let me be clear: I am in no way dismissing immoral or criminal behavior in the ranks of the Church…

--

--

Aaron J. Anderson

CEO of Logos Academy & LogosWorks in York, PA, Dad of 6, Lead Pastor of Living Word Community Church, Red Lion, PA. www.aaronjanderson.com