He Left Nothing Unsaid

Aaron J. Anderson
4 min readMar 6, 2021

On December 12, 2013, I was getting into my 99' Honda Accord to drive down the street to pick up 13-year old Ellis from swim practice. As I lowered myself into the car, I took a call from my brother-in-law Joel. It was a very short conversation. “We lost Dad.”

I’ll never forget returning home and walking into the kitchen where the eight of us collapsed on the floor, wedged into the corner of the cabinets, weeping at the sudden reality that PeePop’s was gone. Terry’s death was shocking and unexpected. He was 64, running on a treadmill at the gym, and collapsed due to a heart attack.

No one had an opportunity to talk to him; no last words or parting messages. I still have a string of text messages that I am committed to never deleting from my phone. In the last couple of text messages he informed us he was passing one of our favorite exits in Virginia: Dumfries/Manassas. We shared lots of chuckles over a town with the name “Man-asses.”

The day before he passed away, his Untappd beer app showed that he enjoyed a “Rise Up” coffee stout. We chuckled at the irony given the Christian hope Terry had of the resurrection of the dead.

We gobbled up every final memory or last words we could recount. I think this is our way of trying to retain some remnant or piece of our departed loved ones.

--

--

Aaron J. Anderson

CEO of Logos Academy & LogosWorks in York, PA, Dad of 6, Lead Pastor of Living Word Community Church, Red Lion, PA. www.aaronjanderson.com